Communities

Writing
Writing
Codidact Meta
Codidact Meta
The Great Outdoors
The Great Outdoors
Photography & Video
Photography & Video
Scientific Speculation
Scientific Speculation
Cooking
Cooking
Electrical Engineering
Electrical Engineering
Judaism
Judaism
Languages & Linguistics
Languages & Linguistics
Software Development
Software Development
Mathematics
Mathematics
Christianity
Christianity
Code Golf
Code Golf
Music
Music
Physics
Physics
Linux Systems
Linux Systems
Power Users
Power Users
Tabletop RPGs
Tabletop RPGs

Dashboard
Notifications
Mark all as read
Q&A

Making a gluten-free "red meat" patty from powders

+0
−1

I have a very small kitchen unfit for rich cooking and I reside in a state in which red meat substitutes are generally very expensive due to currently low demand in the local market.

Say I have some finally chopped onion seasoned with some black pepper, nutmeg, coriander powder, cumin, paprika and salt (fit for kebab/burger) and I want to make a no-gluten red meat patty form it,

Which flours or other dry powders should I try to pour into that mixture to make a "red meat" patty fit for kebab/burger?

Why does this post require moderator attention?
You might want to add some details to your flag.
Why should this post be closed?

0 comment threads

2 answers

+2
−0

Oats

You can get regular oats and grind them up in a food processor. If the issue is "general" then any brand of oats should be fine. If you have a highly allergic (or similar) situation where the tiniest bit of gluten poses a problem then make sure the package states that it is gluten free and doesn't say "May contain wheat" or similar warnings.

Why does this post require moderator attention?
You might want to add some details to your flag.

0 comment threads

+1
−0

What you've got is a set of flavors and a desire for a certain texture. That texture should be supplied by something which provides protein as well as body.

The classic non-meat patties are made of:

lentils chickpeas (garbanzos, ceci) beans (including soybeans (edamame) nuts root vegetables (including potatoes, turnips, yams, tapioca) stalk vegetables (brassicas, mostly) and grains

None of these contain gluten except grains; the grains that have gluten for the purposes of celiac disease are wheat, barley and rye. If you have some other kind of gluten intolerance you should specify that.

There are an infinite number of recipes, and any vegetarian cookbook should have several suggestions.

Why does this post require moderator attention?
You might want to add some details to your flag.

0 comment threads

Sign up to answer this question »

This community is part of the Codidact network. We have other communities too — take a look!

You can also join us in chat!

Want to advertise this community? Use our templates!